So excited to introduce a new friend. Show some love people!

Cami Carlisle’s friends say she was born with a book in her hand. (A statement her mother is relieved to report is a lie.) That love of reading quickly blossomed into a love of writing as well.  She now enjoys writing both YA fantasy and sweet, spanky love stories full of romance and humor. Just Who She Needed is to be her inaugural book, a tale of adventure, romance, and plenty of red bottoms. Be on the lookout for its release date, and until then catch her on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

ftfccarlisle2

Little Darling and The Big Bad Wolfes

Once upon a time, a loving husband, Jaxon Wolfe, and his wife, Little Darling, lived in a cottage near the woods.  Little Darling always tried to be a very good girl, but she was very mischievous and often got into trouble. Jaxon bought her a red, riding cloak and told his brothers, Joshua and Jonas, that if they saw her being naughty, they had his permission to discipline her. Frequently her bottom was as red as her cloak.

One morning, Little Darling asked Jaxon if she might go visit her mother.

“That’s a wonderful idea,” he said.  So she packed a nice basket of wine and cake. When the basket was ready, Little Darling put on her red cloak, kissed Jaxon goodbye, and headed for the door.

“Remember your rules. Go straight to your mother’s house,” he cautioned.  “Don’t dawdle along the way and don’t talk to strangers!”

Little Darling stamped her foot. “Jaxon Wolfe, I am a big girl. I can take care of myself.”

His eyes narrowed. “I think we need to review what happens when you don’t follow the rules.” He bent Little Darling over the table and bared her, smacking her bottom until it glowed bright red.

“Ow. Ow. Owie,” Little Darling cried. “I’ll follow the rules. I promise!”

He pulled her to her feet, kissed her soundly, and scooted her out the door. “Obey the rules,” he called after her.  “The woods can be very dangerous.”

“I will,” Little Darling answered, and she meant it.

As Little Darling skipped along, she noticed some lovely flowers growing far off the path. “My mother would love a beautiful bouquet of fresh flowers,” she thought. She hesitated, remembering her promise not to dawdle, but didn’t think it would take very long. “Besides,” she thought, “no one will ever know.” She picked a beautiful bouquet for her mother. She watched the clouds as they drifted by. She listened to the birds chirping. She was having such a wonderful time that she didn’t notice the dark shadow approaching.

Joshua Wolfe marched up beside her.

“What is such a pretty, red-cloaked little girl doing so far off the forest path,” he asked in a stern voice.

“Joshua Wolfe, you startled me!” Little Darling said. “I…I…picked some flowers for my mother.” She held them up as proof.  

He pointed to the long shadows the trees now cast. “It’s late. Are you supposed to dawdle?” Only then did Little Darling realize it had grown so late in the afternoon.

“I didn’t mean to take so long,” she said. “And I didn’t know I was so far off the path.”

Rolling up the sleeve of his plaid shirt, he took her by the arm and led her to a nearby stump. “I can help you remember to stay on the path and not dawdle,” he said.  With that, he pulled her over his knee and bared her already sore little bottom.

“The woods are very dangerous,” he lectured as he brought his paddle-like hand down hard upon her upturned bottom. “If you dawdle or you’ll have to walk home in the dark.”

Little Darling howled as he brought his hand down again and again. She thought he would never stop. “I’m sorry,” she wailed. “I’ll stay on the path. I won’t dawdle ever again.”

With one more, hardy smack, he set her back on her feet. “Off you go, and remember your rules.”

“I will,” Little Darling promised, and this time, she really meant it.

Little Darling skipped along, hoping the breeze might cool her hot throbbing bottom. She didn’t stop until she had almost reached her mother’s cottage. Rounding a bend, Little Darling saw a cottage she’d never seen before. “What a charming cottage,” she said. “It wouldn’t be very friendly to pass by without introducing myself.” She remembered what her husband had said about not talking to strangers. “Surely he would want me to be neighborly,” she thought. “Besides, no one will ever find out.”  Little Darling knocked on the door.

“Who is it,” a deep voice called from inside.

“Little Darling,” she answered. “I live up the way. I stopped to say hello.”

“Did you know,” growled the voice. “Come inside then, my dear.”

Little Darling entered the cottage. The curtains were drawn and the room was dark. She could scarcely see. “It is so dark in here. Is something the matter?” she asked.

“Not at all,” said the voice from the darkest corner. “I’m just wondering why a red-cloaked little girl is talking to strangers.” A man stepped from the corner and Little Darling squealed in fright until she realized it was Jonas Wolfe.

“But, Jonas, you aren’t a stranger,” she argued.

“You didn’t know that when you came inside all alone,” he answered. “Are you supposed to talk to strangers?”

Little Darling looked at her shoes and shook her head. “I guess I forgot,” she mumbled.

“I’ll make sure you don’t forget again,” he said.

He led her to the corner by the fireplace, which was littered with twigs and branches. “I was making a broom, but now I have a better idea. Put your naughty nose in that corner.”

Little Darling heard the scrape of a chair being pulled in front of the fire. She shivered at the sound of twigs being pulled together and bound. She jumped as he turned her to face him.

“Jonas, what strong arms you have,” she said, staring a freshly made birch with dread.

“The tighter to hold you with, my dear,” he replied.

“Jonas, what a large number of twigs you have,” she said, frozen with fear.

“The sounder to spank you with,” he said. “Now come here.”

“Jonas, what willowy branches you have,” she said with a quivering voice.

“The sharper to sting you with,” he said as he sat. “Come. Here. Now.”

Knowing disobedience would only make it worse, Little Darling threw herself across his unforgiving thighs. He pulled her further over his lap and lifted her cloak and skirt up to her waist. Not satisfied, he parted her bloomers and bared her bottom. She heard the whistling of the descending birch and then fire and pain exploded all over her backside.

She begged and pleaded for him to stop, but it did no good. She promised to never talk to strangers again, to no avail. She promised to stay in her own cottage for the rest of her life. He didn’t stop until her hot bottom and thighs were crimson.

He rubbed her back until her sobs quieted and then sat her on his lap. “I hope you’ve learned your lesson. If not, I will be happy to repeat it.”

Little Darlings jumped up and covered her burning rump with her hands. “NO!” she cried. “I mean, I’ve learned my lesson. I promise.”

He chuckled and walked her to the door. “Go straight to your mothers, and straight home,” he said.

“I will,” Little Darling promised. And this time she really, truly meant it.

She ran all the way to her mother’s cottage. When she arrived, her mother hugged her and guided her to the table to enjoy the treats Little Darling had brought. Patting the chair beside her, she said, “Sit down, Little Darling, and tell me about your journey.”

Little Darling only smiled. “Oh, you know. The same old things,” she said. Staring at the hard-bottomed chair next to her mother, she added, “But if it’s all the same to you, I think I’ll stand.”

The End

